2020 Big Blast Championship article
Dear Membership, New Jersey’s first tournament “The Big Blast Championship” was truly a hit. Competitors from New York, Pennsylvania and Delaware were treated to some terrific targets at Pine Belt Sportsman’s Club. Skeet Chairman Russell Paul and NJSSA President Ben Galioto welcomed all shooters. We had a total of 21 shooters.

The Doubles event was shot on Friday and Pennsylvania’s Tommy Johnson won the event with a 95. Class winners were Jim Seiler AA1, Mike Cerce A1, Angelina D’Aquanno B1 and David Collins C1.

Saturday’s weather made for some sporty targets. In the 12 gauge event two shooters broke 98’s, Ben Galioto and Pine Belt’s Leo Nebbia. After an intense but short shoot-off Ben won the Championship. Class winners were Mike Cerce AA1, Leo Nebbia A1, Paul Billings B1, Peconic River’s Mike Calise won C1 with a solid 97, Brian McEnroy won D1 and Zeke Walker took E1.

On Saturday afternoon we shot the 28 gauge event and Ben Galioto was able to bear down and focus, breaking a 100 straight and taking the championship. Class winners were Tommy Johnson AA1 with a solid 99, Leo Nebbia A1, Jay Taylor B1, North Jersey’s Tommy Surman and Howie Mann took C1 & D1 respectively.

We couldn’t ask for better weather during Sunday morning’s 20 gauge event. High gun and 20 gauge Champion was Ben Galioto who broke his second 100 straight. Class winners were Tommy Johnson who crushed 99 targets to take AA1, Leo Nebbia iced A1 with a solid 98, Angelina D’Aquanno‘s 98 was a personal best and enough to win B1, Howie Mann took C1 and Joe Madlinger reeled in D1.

On Sunday afternoon we shot the 410 and Tommy Johnson’s 94 earned him his second gun championship for the weekend. Mike Cerce was AA1, Leo Nebbia took A1, Jay Taylor B1, Neil Alexander C1 and Zeke Walker D1.

Ben Galioto won the HOA event with a 390x400.

I want to thank our Referees Sophia Galioto, Mark Bricker and Russell Paul, all three were solid on the button. A shout out to Scotty Kreger who helped run the shoot. The biggest thank you of all goes to New Jersey State Hall of Famer Russell Paul, none of this would be possible without Russell.